Leaving for college doesn't mean leaving the farm.

My Empty Bucket

If you live anywhere near Mid-Missouri, you know that this weekend was a complete monsoon. So, that means nothing exciting happened on the farm. Except for Chex is longer swelled up! With flooding and mud everywhere, I stayed inside pretty much the whole weekend, (except when Bethany and I went outside and got completely and absolutely soaked feeding everyone on Sunday).

Instead of doing exciting things outside, I tried catching up on homework. I ended up looking at Pinterest and catching up on all the blogs I haven’t read (I am the ultimate procrastinator!). Reading other blogs really gets me thinking about my life and where it’s going. So instead of finishing my homework, I decided that I needed a Bucket List! Doesn’t everybody? It may not be long but hey, I can always add new stuff! So here it is, after one day and couple of inches of rain:

My Bucket List

Travel

  1. Washington DC- Its one of those places that I think each person should visit with their family and with Dad in the Army, it has an even bigger meaning
  2. Las Vegas- Another place I think every person should visit, but not with my family. 🙂
  3. Montana- I would love to see and even be a part of a ‘real’ ranch even if it is only for a visit
  4. Amarillo, Texas- Being in almost every country song, it has to be a pretty cool place

Crafts

  1. Twenty Five Pinterest crafts- I am a new Pinterest member and I must say, my craft list is already overloaded!
  2. Finish my Desk- Three of us college girls are renting a house next year, and instead of buying a desk, I decided to build it. Currently, it’s only a stained wooden top though.
  3. Build a bookshelf- What can I say, I like working with my hands (and Markway’s never do anything easy!)

My half-way-done desk

School

  1. Network- Last November, I went to AFA and made lots of friends my own age but didn’t make any industry contacts (which is VERY essential!)
  2. Get an internship- Goes hand in hand with networking
  3. Get a master’s degree… eventually- By eventually, this could mean in three years, five years, or ten years.

Fun

  1. Go to wine tasting- A class is offered at Missouri State University, just have to wait until 21!
  2. Learn to drive the boat faster- And by faster, I mean the fastest I have driven is just over an idle when we snag

  1. Go river rafting- Rocks, rapids and all.
  2. Go to a beach- And not have a plan for the day, just me, the water and what I want to do
  3. Learn to drive the truck and trailer- I want to be able to go to the arena when I want, for as long as I want

Our 'Rig'

  1. Go skiing- Nothing like flying down a mountain to give you an adrenalin rush!
  2. Ride a mechanical bull- Again with the adrenalin (I’m an adrenalin junkie!)
  3. Learn to two-step- Technically, I know how to do it, I just suck at it.

Personal

  1. Journal- I keep saying it will happen, but one day I am going to make it happen
  2. Memorize my M number– Which is basically your Missouri State University social security number
  3. Connect with old friends- College has gotten in the way of my home life 🙂
  4. Show more gratitude- Doesn’t everybody need to?

My hope is to finish it by the end of my college career, but who knows! Any more suggestions?

Leave a Reply

